Mind, Motion & Matter

Running, Essentially . . .

Runner’s World Rookie Marathon Training Plan

7 Comments

A young American woman, 22 years old is training for her first marathon in Italy.  She is using a plan which is very similar to what both my husband and I used to run our first marathons.  You can find the 16 week plan at Rookie Marathon Training Plan

My husband started running in his early twenties and ran his first marathon a few years later, using a Runner’s World, Three-Months to a Marathon plan.  I was in my mid-twenties and had been running a few weeks, when I decided to train for a marathon using the same plan which Runner’s World recycles yearly.  So I feel some nostalgia in reading about this woman’s ambition to run a marathon when she returns to the U.S.  She is calling it the SkinnyItaly Project. Go, go, young one, you CAN do it.  YES, you can.

I enjoyed reading about her reasons for running and her determination as shown below:

  • It’s FREE
  • Relieves Stress
  • Pushes your mental and physical strength
  • You can do it ANYWHERE
  • Again, it’s FREE
  • Achieve a lean, mean, STRONG physique

I’m going to be MADE. Into a Marathoner.  My coach will be my own stubbornness and muscle tension from my daily lifestyle in Italy.  Running a marathon has been on my BUCKET LIST (aka life goals), along with building orphanages in Uganda.

You can check out the full story of the SkinnyItaly project HERE.

I’m inspired by the marvelous energy and enthusiasm of the young.  It is easy as one ages to view youth as a phase we passed through and thought better of it.   I like to think that we can distill the essence of youth and reinvent ourselves as youth-full in spirit as we age, or at the very least, appreciate it vicariously.   Although, like George Sheehan I’ve often thought that running has been, and still is my fountain of youth.  Vigour is definitely a good foundation for optimism.

Dostoevsky said that “The second half of a man’s life is made up of nothing but the habits he has acquired during the first half.”   However sobering this gloomy outlook  may be, know truly that it is never too late to start exercising regularly, or too early.

7 thoughts on “Runner’s World Rookie Marathon Training Plan

  1. When I read a blog like that, I want to start marathon training! I wonder if I will take on running as a hobby some day? Perhaps if I read your blog long enough I will eventually 🙂

    • Beaches Spring Sprint
      Sat. Apr. 2, Adult start: 9:30 am, Children start: 10:30 am
      Beaches Boardwalk
      Organized by the Advisory Council of the Beaches Recreation Centre
      416-392-0740
      SPRING SPRINT TIME! 5KM run/walk for adults/seniors; 2KM run for children; 2 KM walk for seniors. Registration: March 22, 23, 24 & 28, 29, 30 from 7:00-9:00pm at the Beaches Recreation Centre / 6 Williamson Road / 416-392-0740. Cost: $25 for Adults / $20.00 for Seniors & Children. Price includes a t-shirt while supplies last. Volunteers are needed. *REMINDER: NO REGISTRATION ON RACE DAY.

  2. You could set a goal to walk run a 5K! It is a lot easier to work out, I find when you have a special event goal.

    • That’s a great idea! I’ve heard of the program “Couch to 5k” too. Doing any sort of routine on a regular basis seems far-reaching at this point, but maybe once Spring comes and I can get out with the stroller. Hmmm….now the wheels in my mind are churning 🙂

    • I’m enjoying hearing about Italy. I sprained my ankle quite badly on the cobblestones when I was in Rome nearly 3 decades ago. I’m sure it is a bit tough to find good places to run. Walking IS really great exercise and can supplement marathon training. You can always start off with a 1/2 marathon if training conditions in Italy are difficult.

Leave a comment